MASO Committees


This committee is composed of three (3) members.  At each succeeding Annual Session, one (1) member is elected for a term of three (3) years.  The senior member serves as Chairperson in their last year on the committee.

The function of this Committee is the development and promotion of educational programs for the members and their staff.  The committee will encourage research by graduate orthodontic departments of institutions within MASO by recognizing outstanding research contributions with the William A. Kress Award.

The Education and Research Committee shall:

  1. Assist with the spring Continuing Education program for orthodontists and/or staff members in an appropriate geographical location. Sponsorship monies should be solicited to cover the cost of the conference.  
  2. Review the thesis submissions and select, when appropriate, a recipient of the William A. Kress Award.  The award has been established to further the interests of orthodontic education by awarding a cash prize and certificate to a student of a graduate orthodontic program in MASO whose thesis or research project is judged the best for that year.  The award shall be made in the name of the William Kress Memorial Fund and so memorialize our Past President who had a major interest in orthodontic education under the following guidelines:
    1. The Committee of Education and Research shall select the winner and present the award.
    2. The Executive Director in conjunction with the committee chairperson shall contact the director of each graduate orthodontic program in MASO, advising them of the award, and requesting the submission of one thesis or research project to be considered for the award.
    3. The Executive Director will insure that information about this award has been forwarded to each graduate orthodontic department for dissemination to their residents.
    4. December 31st of the year of a resident’s graduation is the deadline for submission of the appropriate applicant material.
    5. The material will be distributed by the executive Director and reviewed by the Chairperson and committee members.  Committee members will grade each thesis on a 1 to 10 scale with the highest average determining the recipient of the award.
    6. The Chairperson will then notify the Board of the decision of the Committee.  On behalf of the Chair, MASO’s Executive Director will then notify the winner and invite them to attend the general business meeting of the next Annual Session, where the Committee Chair will make the presentation.
    7. The notification of the award will be published in the official program of the Annual Session.
    8. The Award consists of a check for $1,000, complimentary registration to the conference, three night’s complimentary hotel room, thirty day advance coach roundtrip airfare, and two complimentary tickets to the Annual Session Gala.  The recipient should forward an abstract of the thesis to the Editor for publication in the Journal.
Dr. Rene S. Johe, Chair
132 Forest Hill Rd
West Orange, NJ 07052-3945
Dr. Jeff Jarvis
207 Washington Heights Med Ctr
Westminster, MD 21157-5632

Dr. Roberto Hernández-Orsini
Camino Alejandrino #4, Villa Clementina
Guaynabo, PR 00969-4712



Follow on Facebook

MASO Information

Middle Atlantic Society of Orthodontists
17 South High Street, Suite 200
Columbus, OH 43215
Toll Free (866) 748-6276
Fax (614) 221-1989