MASO Committees


This committee shall be composed of eight (8) members.  They shall be the Immediate Past President of MASO, the next most immediate Past President available, and six other members; one from each MASO component. The President of each MASO component, or a designee of the component President, should be given preference for this position.  If the immediate Past President of MASO and/or the next most immediate Past President cannot serve on the Nominating Committee for any reason, the MASO President shall appoint a former Past President of MASO to serve in their place.  The Past President and next most immediate Past President shall serve for a term of one year.  The Immediate Past President shall serve as Chairperson.  As respective terms expire, this committee shall submit the names of nominees for President-Elect, Directors to the Board, and committee vacancies of MASO; in addition, nominees for Trustee, Delegate and Alternate Delegate to the AAO, and a nominee for the Gerard A. Devlin Award.  This report shall be referred to the Board, shall be published thirty (30) days prior to the Annual Session, and shall be presented at the business meeting of the annual session.

The Nominating Committee shall:

  1. Solicit from the component societies the names of those who have served well on a local level and who may be available to serve effectively in our Society.
  2. Attempt to maintain a geographic balance in its nominations wherever feasible and possible.
  3. Seek to place members in increasing levels of responsibility to develop their skills and experience.
  4. Submit the name of a nominee for the Gerard A. Devlin award.
  5. Inform all committee nominees of their approval by the Board, and help insure their presence for election at the Annual Session.

Guidelines for Nominee Selection for all MASO offices and committees

(Distribution of Member Responsibility):

  1. A person currently serving as a MASO representative to an AAO Council is not required to resign the AAO position if they are elected to serve as a MASO Director.  However, they should select which of the two positions they will continue to serve, and resign the other, when their term as Director is up for renewal.
  2. A current Director will not be proposed by the Nominating Committee, nor approved by the Board of Directors, for an AAO council position unless there are no other reasonably qualified members willing to accept the position. If a Director is elected as a council representative, they must select which of the two positions they will continue to serve, and resign the other, when their term as Director is up for renewal.
  3. A current Director or Officer (except the President) will not serve as a Delegate or Alternate Delegate to the AAO unless no other reasonably qualified member is willing to accept the position.
  4. An AAO Council representative should not serve as a MASO Delegate or Alternate Delegate, nor may a Delegate or Alternate Delegate serve as an AAO Council representative.
  5. The Nominating Committee will make every effort to insure that each component of MASO is proportionately represented when nominating persons to serve as Officers, and Directors. They will make a similar effort when nominating persons to serve as AAO Delegates, Alternate Delegates and AAO Council representatives.
  6. Report the slate of nominees to the Board, and present the list to the general membership of MASO at least thirty (30) days prior to the Annual Session.  The slate shall then be voted upon at the business meeting of the Annual Session.


  1. Nominations may be received from any MASO member, and are due prior to March 1st of each year. 
  2. The committee will select nominees, and forward its recommendations to the Board of Directors for approval at the June Board meeting.
  3. Election will occur at the next MASO Annual Session.

Qualifications for nomination:

All candidates should have demonstrated at least one of the following:

  1. A significant contribution to orthodontics, usually at the Component level, beyond the usual requirements for membership.
  2. A significant contribution to orthodontics as a clinician, educator, or researcher.
  3. A significant contribution to other areas of dentistry or science benefiting the dental health of the patients served by MASO orthodontists.
Dr. Doug S. Harte, Immediate Past President
100 W. Mt. Pleasant Avenue
Livingston, NJ  07039-2929
Dr. Lara Minahan, President
Maryland State Society of Orthodontists
3423 Olney-Laytonsville Rd, Suite 3A
Olney, Maryland 20832
Dr. Lynette Garcia, President
Puerto Rico Society of Orthodontists
Vista Azul, Marginal ST D-5
Arecibo, PR 00612
Dr. Mark Fiss, President
Delaware State Society of Orthodontists
108 Augustine Rd
Wilmington, DE 19803-4507

Dr. Barry Raphael, President
New Jersey Society of Orthodontists
1425 Broad Street
Clifton, NJ  07013

Dr. Jean Edouard Asmar, Interim President
District of Columbia Society of Orthodontists
4545 42nd St NW – Suite #100
Washington, DC 20016-4623

Dr. Hugh Friel, President
Pennsylvania Association of Orthodontists
1815 Schadt Ave
Whitehall, PA 18052-3761

Follow on Facebook

MASO Information

Middle Atlantic Society of Orthodontists
17 South High Street, Suite 200
Columbus, OH 43215
Toll Free (866) 748-6276
Fax (614) 221-1989